Trip Advisor Instagram Facebook Twitter

Go Haida Gwaii

MENU

Rose Spit - where the Hecate Strait meets Dixon Entrance - Photo: Owen Perry www.circa1983.ca

The rainforest experience - moss carpeted paths, a lingering scent of fresh cedar and the sounds of silence - Photo: Owen Perry www.circa1983.ca

Step into another world as you tour ancient Haida village sites in Gwaii Haanas - Photo: Owen Perry www.circa1983.ca

 

Your Stories

Cycle Tour to Haida Gwaii - the Edge of the World

By Jane Weiss

For years a visit to Haida Gwaii has been on our wish list!  This archipelago off the Northwest Coast of British Columbia is remote, incredibly beautiful, relatively untouched and rich in Haida culture.  The fascinating history of the Haida people goes back to the great floods and the first tree.  The islands have been nicknamed the Galapagos of the North because of the distinct flora and fauna that have evolved over thousands of years....and the beaches are amazing!

We are fascinated by this awe-inspiring place, home to Gwaii Haanas National Park and Haida Heritage Site and honoured to be visiting.  To make our vacation extra special, we have booked a four day tour with Moresby Explorers.  The icing on the cake - our daughter is working as a Guide for Moresby.  We are excited to visit with her and learn more about the place she currently calls home.

Our plan is to cycle from our home in Surrey to Port Hardy on Vancouver Island and then make our way to the islands by ferry. 

Here is our story,,,,,


Prince Rupert to Sandspit - http://cyclehaidagwaii.blogspot.ca/2015/07/day-10-prince-rupert-to-sandspit.html

Gray Bay (Morseby Island) - http://cyclehaidagwaii.blogspot.ca/2015/07/day-11-gray-bay.html

Moresby Camp to Floating Lodge - http://cyclehaidagwaii.blogspot.ca/2015/07/day-12-moresby-camp-to-floating-lodge.html

Floating Lodge to Rose Harbour - http://cyclehaidagwaii.blogspot.ca/2015/07/day-13-floating-lodge-to-rose-harbour.html

Visit to SGang Gwaay - http://cyclehaidagwaii.blogspot.ca/2015/07/day-14-rose-harbour-to-floating-lodge.html

Floating Lodge to Sandspit - http://cyclehaidagwaii.blogspot.ca/2015/07/day-15-floating-lodge-to-sandspit.html

Reflections - Cycle Tour to Haida Gwaii - http://cyclehaidagwaii.blogspot.ca/2015/08/refections-cycle-tour-to-haida-gwaii.html

Tlell to Queen Charlotte City - http://cyclehaidagwaii.blogspot.ca/2015/08/day-17-tlell-to-queen-charlotte-city.html

Sandspit to Tlell, Haida Gwaii - Back on the Bikes - http://cyclehaidagwaii.blogspot.ca/2015/08/day-16-sandspit-to-tlell-haida-gwaii.html

 

Contact Us

Queen Charlotte Visitor Centre

website: www.queencharlottevisitorcentre.com
email: info@qcinfo.ca | telephone: 250-559-8316

Sandspit Visitor Centre

website: www.lovehaidagwaii.com/businesses/the-sandspit-visitor-centre
email: visitsandspit@gmail.com | telephone: 250.637.5362

Port Clements Visitor Centre

website: www.portclements.ca
email: pcmuseum@qcislands.ca | telephone: 250-557-4576

Masset Visitor Centre

website: www.massetbc.com
email: info@massetbc.com | telephone: 250-626-3982

Haida Gwaii Tourism

Destination Marketing Organization
website: www.gohaidagwaii.ca
email: tourism@gohaidagwaii.ca

Super Natural British Columbia